Update Thursday Jan 16

All:

Just wanted to give you a quick update. I had a procedure to install the PICC line today. It all went well, though rather a long 3 hrs. The staff at Kaiser continues to be attentive and professional. Kathy was with me and she learned how to flush the PICC line on a daily basis to keep it from clogging. Its anticipated that the line will stay in me for the duration of my treatments.

It was a fairly painless procedure, but there are some key things I have to keep in mind while I wear it: no heavy lifting, no vacuum cleaning; no raquetball :o) and I cant get it wet. Other than that, its a very easy and clever way to draw blood and through which the chemo can be administered without having to stick me each time.

They have given me quite a schedule of appointments for such things as blood samples, PICC bandage cleaning and checking, doctors follow-up, chemo treatments, and the removal of the remote pump after my two-day continuous infusions at home.

Right now, I continue to be tired and I am sleeping most afternoons. My apetite isnt what it once was but it tends to be better in the morining and improves after I take my pain killers.

Still taking it day by day. My first chemo is tomorrow. Kathy has us organized with the stuff I will need to take with me. I got warm clothing, food, medication, books to read, etc.  She and Nick with alternate being with me during the day. Kath is wonderful, as most of you know, and I dont think I could face this without her.

I should be home in the late afternoon. We are as ready as we can be.

Hugs to you all.

Alex

Standard

6 thoughts on “Update Thursday Jan 16

    • Paulette says:

      I pray the day went as well as possible. As painless as possible. Please let us know if there is anything you need. Pray all is peaceful. Love You.

  1. Kelly Cruz says:

    Hi Alex – Wanted you to know that my thoughts and prayers are with you and Kathy as you go through this journey together. Remember to always laugh when you can because laughter is the best medicine!

  2. Joann Dorn says:

    Hoping and praying for your comfort Alex as you go through your treatments. Sending you lots of Love and prayers. We are also thanking God that you are so strong. Love to all of you Dad & Joann

  3. Aggie says:

    As we follow yours and Kathy’s journey it strikes us that, in these times of great difficulty, you are defaulting to the virtues and actions that bring out the best in us as human beings – self sacrificing love, focusing on what is most important and letting go of what is not, and living one day at a time. It seems that if there is any value to be realized in illness or misfortune it is that it peels away all those things in our lives that have long distracted us from being who we were meant to be – human beings fully capable of loving unconditionally and absolutely free to do so if we choose. May the knowledge that you, Kathy, and Nick are teaching us perhaps the most valuable lessons in life and love give you strength. May the love of all your family and friends sustain you in this journey, and may the all-powerful and truly unconditional love of the One Who created you and loved you first heal you and bring true joy to you, Kathy, and Nick.

Leave a Reply

