Thursday Jan23

Friends and loved ones whose company peels the pain and dreariness away:
I am finally on the otherside of my first chemo cycle. While Saturday wasn’t too bad, I didn’t push as much fluid (80oz) as needed on Sunday and Monday. The result was the chemicals weren’t leaving my system, making me extremely nauseated. I didn’t eat hardly anything either. Tuesday I got back in to Kaiser and they gave me 2 hour glucose and saline infusion. Much better. Appetite coming back and less nausea on Wednesday. Today I am getting another 2hour saline glucose infusion, with a final one on Sat. Feeling a lot better today.

Ive learned lot this first cycle and will be better prepared for round two on the31st

Many heartfelt hugs to all of you who give me strength. Sometimes I spend an afternoon watching cable Tv and get disheartened by all the sarcasm, pettiness,criticism and competitiveness. Then I read the kindnesses of people whose lives I am fortunate to have crossed and I remember what a truely wonderful world it is.

Big Hugs… Alex

Standard

9 thoughts on “Thursday Jan23

  1. Joann Dorn says:

    So glad you are feeling better and we hope each day you will gain new strength. Sounds like you are learning and that is what counts because you will be able to make it through the next cyle even better. Those chemicals are a blessing and then again you might think why am I putting myself through this, you can do this and drinking tons is the solution to washing them out. Keep up the good work and you should probably be watching some of your favorite movies instead of tv, I found there is really nothing to watch during the day. Sending you tons of love and hugs!

  2. Aggie says:

    Day to day inconveniences and irritations used to be things I would make a point to avoid or get rid of – the sooner the better. Now I bear them with more patience as I think about what you and Kathy are going through. And I appreciate these inconveniences because, as my faith has taught me, they allow me to bear even a tiny share of your burden. Until the time comes when I am given the opportunity to do more, I will continue to bear with joy all that I can of the (comparatively) minor challenges and trials I am given, and I offer these up as prayers to ease your own burden.

  3. Marie says:

    Hi Alex, Marie here from down under. As Joann said, “knowledge is power”. I hope one of the things you will be drinking is a lot of MILK. Not sure if you’ve seen a movie called “The Help”. It was funny enough to watch several times. We will keep you and your family in our thoughts and prayers. Not sure if you can feel the hugs all the way from Australia, but nevertheless they are sent Priority Mail.

  4. Stacy M says:

    Dear Alex,
    The first cycle is the hardest as you do NOT know what to expect….you are over that hurdle. Now you know, drink fluids…
    Rent/Buy a bunch of funny videos…..things that make you laugh. Laugher is the best medicine. If you have a weekly program you like, get a series and watch it from start to finish.
    I think of the three of you often and you are in my thoughts and prayers – always.
    XXX,
    Stacy

  5. Nancy says:

    Dear Alex,

    All of us at MEA are sending you our prayers and best wishes. We are thinking of you and your family! Warmest regards, Nancy

  6. Karen K. says:

    Glad to hear you’re feeling somewhat better. A simple thing, but hard to overestimate the value of water. Seems like all of us are periodically sent back to the basics. Take care, Karen

  7. Jen C says:

    Your journey back to good health may overwhelm you at times; you can do this. There are many of us on the sidelines praying for your success and I am confident there is power in prayer.

Leave a Reply

