May 26 Update –

Dear Family/Friends/Compadres:

It’s been a while since my last post so I thought I give you all a quick update. Not a lot has changed since April. I continue on the bi-weekly treatments, which my body seems to have adjusted to as I am not feeling quite as tired as earlier-on. I still get a bit nauseated during the 3-4 day recovery. My hair is getting thinner and I have to be careful not to handle cold items due to the effect one of the drugs has on my fingertips, but all in all, not too bad. I am not scheduled for another CT scan for a while, so we won’t know for certain if the treatments are still as effective. Doc says that at some point the darn tumors usually become resistant to the chemicals and we have to start down another treatment path, but I am not worried about that. I am feeling good most of the time right now and we are taking advantage of the beautiful days as they come. Kathy and I walked in our neighborhood 3 times last week and I am back up to 153 pounds. We are also planning a couple of fun trips this summer, one to Northern California with our dear friends, and the other to Washington DC. This will really be a hoot – I am looking forward to it.

Many of you have shared with me your personal experiences coping with the health care of family and loved ones. Your words of support and encouragement have helped me to stay focused on all the positive things that have happened to me over the past 6 months. I get such positive feelings when we visit, talk on the phone just to “catch up”, split some nachos at a happy hour, throw some cards around the table and lose my taco money :o) , share a toast to past exploits and future adventures, commiserate over life’s hurdles while slurping some chips, salsa and menudo, take in a ball game, or just have a nice brunch or dinner together. These are special times for me –  made wonderful by some very special people.

Big Hugs

Alex

Standard

3 thoughts on “May 26 Update –

  1. Mike Fliniau says:

    Alex…always good to hear from you. I love your positive outlook. We are with you.. Hope to see you in a few weeks…M&M

  2. Becky says:

    Alex,
    Glad to hear you’re getting out and about. Even better to hear you and the family will get out of town on a couple of vacations! Take it all in and enjoy!!

  3. Karen K. says:

    Hey Alex! So glad to hear that you and Kathy are hitting the road. I think we all think that we have all the time in the world and we’ll do that traveling later. You have gotten husband George and I going with definite plans for the East Coast and then France–thank you for that dear friend. Love, love, love the hat–suave and debonnaire came to mind when I saw you–if you can post that picture you should–everywhere!! Very 40’s I think. Alex and Kathy, take care. Karen

Leave a Reply

